Rietveld in Utrecht - A heritage cycle tour

Published on 18 April 2017 by Hilary Staples

Celebrate the 100th anniversary of De Stijl with a cycle tour through Utrecht, visiting locations associated with the famous Dutch designer and architect Gerrit Rietveld.


Going on a bike and boat tour

Published on 5 August 2015 by Hilary Staples

Many cyclists come to Holland for a bike and boat tour. What is a bike and boat tour and why are these cycling holidays so popular? I went along on Boat-Bike Tours' Northern Tour to find out.


Amsterdam by bike maps reviewed

Published on 6 June 2015 by Hilary Staples

To get around Amsterdam by bike, there are two dedicated cycle maps available: one covers the whole of the city, the other the Amsterdam region. What's the difference between the two maps? Which map should you choose?


Cycling in the footsteps of Van Gogh

Published on 8 May 2015 by Hilary Staples

In celebration of the Van Gogh year 2015, we cycled the Van Gogh Cycle Route - a 335 km-long bike tour through the Dutch artist's homeland Brabant. What does this route have to offer?


Review of the Limes Cycle Route

Published on 18 August 2014 by Hilary Staples

Summer 2014 we cycled the Dutch section of the Limes Cycle Route which follows the northern border of the Roman Empire. How much can you still see of this Roman history? And is the guide book any use if you don't understand Dutch?


ANWB fietskaart series reviewed

Published on 9 April 2014 by Hilary Staples

The ANWB fietskaart series consists of 20 separate cycle maps on a scale of 1:50,000 covering the whole of Holland. We went to Drenthe to put one of these maps to the test.


Numbered cycle network maps

Published on 24 December 2013 by Hilary Staples

When the numbered cycle network was introduced, another type of map came on the market: the numbered cycle network map (knooppuntenkaart). How does it compare to a regular cycle map?


Review of the Cyclist’s Path

Published on 11 October 2013 by Hilary Staples

In June 2013 we cycled the Cyclists's Path. The only existing guide book is in Dutch. Is this a problem if you don’t understand the language? And what does the route have to offer? We decided to find out.